production.jpg

關於

從顛簸中站穩腳步,在信念裡展望未來。
大部分品牌的故事總是從舊時代開始講起,但是許多傑出的電影和故事卻都是從目前身處的時間點開始的。HORAGE的故事始於我們當下所處的位置以及當前時代的挑戰。 這些挑戰提供了機會並激勵我們跨越生產與社會經濟水平的門檻。

 

今天,我們專注於當下,著眼於過去,藉以快速進入永遠無法預知的未來。 新一代的發燒錶友依然持續著人類對機械世界的迷戀,這份理解使HORAGE能夠駕馭瑞士製錶業的動盪。 只需時刻傾聽,開發值得在今天和明天依然可以談論的手錶。

展望未來,我們的重點是為下一代手錶愛好者設計生產手錶。 我們在與朋友和家人聚會的簡單生活中找到靈感,美食、到遙遠的地方旅行以及在地的生產廠商都可以激發我們找到下一波產品設計潮流。 於是,我們超越了行業的界限,有條不紊地認真研究比例、材料使用和呈現方式。
Autark-3.jpg
tourbillon-3.jpg
Food.jpg

時光倒流...

美食和親密的朋友似乎是HORAGE成功的秘訣。 這個秘方最早在2007年就已經存在,當年Andreas Felsl、黃慈育和朋友們熱烈地討論在鐘錶行業如何確保自己未來的方法。 慈育在位於瑞士比爾的家建立了一家成功的OEM採購設計公司,該公司為許多瑞士鐘錶品牌提供服務,她意識到了公司的獨立性卻是取決於所提供服務品牌的成功。 那場聚會的總體思路是,打造一個能夠確保獨立製錶的品牌。

2008年,HORAGE的第一款名為Omnium手錶設計開始,2009年,Omnium在巴塞爾世界鐘錶展上登場亮相。 然而,由於經濟不景氣以及人們認識到始終無法輕鬆採購自動機芯,慈育和Andreas決定追求真正的獨立製錶,開始開發自己的自動機芯。 在2009年HORAGE投入並開始進行機芯的工程設計。Stephan Kussmaul渴望接受挑戰,開始了我們K1機芯的早期開發。 該機芯開始發展後,他繼續前進並將火炬傳遞給Jonas Nydegger和Florian Serex,他們接手完成K1的工程設計和開發。

 

K1的開發需要品牌, HORAGE因此很快得以重生。

 

HORAGE系列產品於2014年開始設計。 2015年,首款以Jonas Nydegger命名的HORAGE腕錶在Kickstarter眾籌網站上發布。Jonas K1這款手錶後續發展出名為Array的錶款,配備有大秒針、動力儲存顯示和大日期窗。 在此期間,HORAGE也進一步設計其他款式,例如Autark及Solar Wind,而我們的第一隻原始錶款Omnium也換裝使用新開發的K1機芯。

 

繼Jonas K1及Array腕錶在眾籌網站上取得成功之後,我們透過Multiply開始第三個Kickstarter眾籌網站系列。 由於K1機芯的模組化設計,Multiply成為當時第一款可以自行選擇配置機芯的手錶。 這些Kickstarter眾籌網站項目的成功使我們能夠進一步從支持者那裡獲得研發成果在現實世界的回饋,並看到K1演變成穩定的自動機芯。

4-collections-omnium-j2.jpg

名字的由來

HORAGE是兩個單詞的組合; HORA是拉丁語中意指小時,而AGE當然是英語所謂的時代,無論是過去、現在還是將來。 將兩者結合在一起,於是我們有了HORAGE,但是像拉丁字Hora一樣,H保持沉默不發音。 簡而言之,有人會簡單地發音為“ORAGE”。

比爾/比恩

我們的家位於瑞士比爾Biel/比恩Bienne,這是一個美麗的城市,也是瑞士最大的製錶業所在。 身處震央中意味著我們可以與領導製錶業的頂尖製錶師和工程師近身接觸。辦公室和生產位於獨立但相距僅幾百米的兩個地點。 製造生產位在一棟坐落於自然野生峽谷旁的現代製錶專用建築裡。

 

設計和管理辦公室位於創始人安德烈亞斯Andreas和慈育家中, 一棟有將近百年歷史的建築。 在這裡,我們可以找到下一個款式的靈感,與客戶聯繫或是以美食會友。 採購、物流、會計、設計、市場營銷、和IT都在包含在內,當然還有其他團隊成員跨國的合作。

Fuchsenried-2.jpg
THE+-4.jpg
Happy Hour-10.jpg

瑞士製造和手工製造

在機芯發展、先進製錶技術、供應商資源以及對新製錶師的教育方面,瑞士算是無與倫比的。 然而,我們在其他國家的合作夥伴,他們在指針、錶盤和錶殼開發上面的表現也同樣出色,他們的工藝一樣無可匹敵。 錶殼、指針和錶盤對高檔手錶的整體生產價格只占很小一部分,機芯則佔據了手錶總價值的大部分。 當計算任何HORAGE手錶的成分時,我們大大超過了標示瑞士製造Swiss Made所規定的百分之六十的瑞士生產價值的要求,並且根據款式的不同,它是將近百分之八十到九十七的瑞士生產價值。

 

在計算手錶的瑞士生產價值或瑞士屬性時,有一些因素會有重要的作用,例如零組件的製造地以及零件組本身的​​價值在總生產價值裡所佔的比例。此外,還有手錶必須在瑞士完成最後組裝、測試和調校機芯的規定。

 

手錶其他的價值則還包括工程設計和開發成本。由於我們很容易便可達到瑞士製造稱號的規定,所有機芯上皆蓋印瑞士製造字樣,因此將錶盤上印的“手工製造”則成為彰顯製造機械錶樂趣的指標。與任何手工製品一樣,一些工具和機器當然需要人工手動設置和引導。拋光、組裝和測試也都是依賴人工完成的,不應將這些工作視為理所當然。如今我們所知道的機器都還無法自動生產出高檔腕錶的價值,因此製錶仍然是一種非常人工化的體驗。

 

對於未來的生產款式,我們將紀念所處的這個瑞士鐘錶小鎮,因此將印上比爾/比恩Biel / Bienne的字樣在錶盤。我們已經讓客群了解到,即使他們手上的某些零組件是由世界各地的人生產製造的,但是最後,機芯和手錶仍然必須在我們位於瑞士比爾/比恩的工廠人工組裝。

軟體技術

HORAGE不僅僅是製錶商,同時還是一家技術公司。 在了解傳統零售所面臨的困境挑戰後,我們將目光投向了透過智能手機和技術提供更好的零售系統。 我們內建平台 BrandCloud在品牌、零售商和客戶間提供了真正的全功能管道。

 

客戶是第一位,透過BrandCloud,他們可以隨時拜訪世界各地任何零售商提供的所有庫存。 此外,它們具有安全的價格保證、產品認證以及靈活的在線或離線購物方式。 零售商與傳統零售商相比,可以大大降低庫存風險,從投資報酬率的增加中受益。 零售商與HORAGE和代理商分擔交易成本,品牌和零售商共同分享每筆交易的利潤。 客戶將從更快的售後服務和即時保修中受益。

客服專線 : +41 32 344 1665

production.jpg

About

Start where we are, learn from the past, look to the future.

Typically a brands story always starts at the beginning, however many great films and stories start right where they currently are. The story of HORAGE starts right where we are and the the challenges of the current times. These challenges provide opportunity and inspire us to raise the bar both in production and on a socioeconomic level.

 

Today we are focused on the moment and look to our past as a means to fast track into the forever changing future. New generations of enthusiasts are keeping humanities fascination with the mechanical world alive and this understanding has enabled HORAGE to navigate the turbulences of the Swiss watchmaking landscape. Simply listen to the moment and develop watches worth talking about today and tomorrow.

Looking to the future our focus is on designing and producing watches for the next generation of watch lovers. We find inspiration in the simple luxuries of life that bring friends and families together. Culinary delights, travel to far off lands and local producers have a way of sparking our next wave of product design. In the end we look beyond our industries borders where the ingredients of proportion, material usage and presentation are methodically put to careful use.

Autark-3.jpg
tourbillon-3.jpg
Food.jpg

A look back in time...

Great food and close friends always seem to be a recipe for success at HORAGE.  This recipe was first concocted back in 2007 when Andreas Felsl and Tzuyu Huang together with friends discussed ways of securing their futures within the watch industry.  Tzuyu had established a successful OEM sourcing firm based in their current home of Biel, Switzerland that served many watch brands, however she realized that her independence was reliant on the success of the brands she supplied for. The general idea at that get together was to form a brand that would do whatever it could to secure independence as a watchmaker.
In 2008 the first HORAGE watch named Omnium began design and in 2009 Omnium would be presented at Basel World. However due to the economic downturn and a realization that easily accessible movements would not always be accessible, Tzuyu and Andreas decided to pursue true watchmaking independence and began development of their own automatic movement. In late 2009 HORAGE was put on ice and the process of engineering a movement began.  Stephan Kussmaul was eager to take on the challenge and began the early development of our K1 movement. Having initiated the movement development he would move on, and pass the torch onto Jonas Nydegger and Florian Serex to complete the engineering and development of K1.

The development of K1 required a brand and HORAGE was would soon come back to life.

 

In 2014 the design of the HORAGE line would begin. In 2015 the first HORAGE watch called Jonas, named after our watchmaker Jonas Nydegger would be launched on Kickstarter. Jonas, a watch that later was configured to a centre second, power reserve and big date and named Array.  During this time HORAGE would make further watch designs such as Autark and Solar Wind and our first watch Omnium would be retrofitted with the newly developed K1 movement.  

 

Following the success of the Jonas watch we would begin our second Kickstarter campaign with Multiply.  Multiply would be the first configurable movement watch of its time due to the modularity of the K1 movement.  The success of these Kickstarter projects enabled us to further gain real world R&D from our supporters and ultimately see K1 evolve into a stable movement.

4-collections-omnium-j2.jpg

Our Name

Our name HORAGE is the combination of two words; HORA is latin for hour and AGE is of course English referencing time whether it be the past, present or future. When combining the two we have HORAGE, however like the latin word Hora, the H remains silent. Simply put, one would simply say orage.

Biel/Bienne

 

Our home is in Biel/Bienne Switzerland a beautiful city and also the home to the biggest Swiss watchmakers. Being at the epicentre means we have access to the best watchmakers and engineers leading the charge in watchmaking. Our office and our production are two separate locations, however just a few hundred meters apart. Production is taking place in a modern, watchmaking purpose built facility nestled in a wild ravine. 

 

Our design and administration office is located in the beautiful mid-century home of founders Andreas and Tzuyu. It is where we find inspiration for the next projects, connect with customers and meet with friends over culinary creations. Sourcing, logistics, accounting, design, marketing and IT are all in-house, but supported remotely from members of our team the world over.

Fuchsenried-2.jpg
THE+-4.jpg
Happy Hour-10.jpg

Swiss Made & Hand Made

Switzerland cannot be beat when it comes to movement development, advances in watchmaking technologies, supplier relations and the educating of new watchmakers in this craft. However other countries excel at hand, dial and case development and we often look to our partners in those countries as their hand work is simply cannot be beat. The case, hands and dial contribute very little to the overall production value of a premium luxury watch, whereas the movement accounts for the majority of the watches value. When calculating any HORAGE watch we greatly exceed 60% Swiss Value calculation for Swiss Made and depending on the watch it will be 80%-97% Swiss Value.

 

A few factors come into play when calculating the Swiss value or Swissness of a watch such as where the part was made and the value the part contributes to the total production value. In addition, a company must complete the assembly, testing and movement regulation in Switzerland.

 

Other contributors to the watch value are engineering and development costs.

Since we easily meet the Swiss Made designation and stamp Swiss Made on all our movements, we have place Hand Made on the dial in recognition of the many hands that build our mechanical delights. As with any handmade item there are tools and machines that need to be set and guided by hand. The polishing, assembly and testing is all done by hand and none of this work should be taken for granted. There is no machine today that we are aware of that can stamp out premium luxury watch and therefore watchmaking still remains a very human experience.

 

For our future timepiece production, we will honour the Swiss town in which we are located and therefore will place Biel/Bienne on our future dials. We have learned from our community the importance of relaying where their watches come from as working hands can be found the world over. In the end our movements and watches are assembled by hand at our facility in Biel/Bienne Switzerland.

Information Technology

HORAGE is not only a watchmaker, but also a technology company. With an understanding of the challenges of traditional retail we have looked to the smartphone and the technologies in the palm of our hands that can better retailing. Our in-house platform BrandCloud delivers a true omni-channel opportunity to retailers, brands and customers alike.

 

Customers come first and through BrandCloud they have access to all inventory, everywhere in the world, offered by any retailer at anytime. Furthermore they have secure price assurance, product authentication and the flexibility to shop online or off-line. Retailers benefit from increased ROI over a traditional retailer model due to little to product deposits and greatly reduced inventory risk. Retailers share costs of transactions with HORAGE and distributors and together both brand and retailer share profits from each transaction. Customers benefit from the faster after sales service and immediate warranty card reference.

Customer service: +41 32 344 1669